Doing Well

A man says to his coworker, “Hello. How are you?”
His coworker replied, “Aw, I can’t call it.” And then sighs in defeat.
Why can’t he call it? Call it what? Why do we speak so negatively sometimes?
I’ve heard people say things like, “Man, if I had your hand, I’d cut mine off.”
Why would you do that? Someone else’s hand wouldn’t look right on your arm.
Some people may think that talking in this way isn’t such a big deal. I beg to differ. You really have to be careful what you say. Your words have power.

Now this doesn’t mean that when a coworker asks how you’re doing that you have to reply, “Ohhh I’m blessed and highly favored! Oh, my soul! I am more than a conqueror! Hey! Hey! Hey! I’m the head (pause for dramatic effect) and not the tail!”

All of that may well be true. But unless your co-worker goes to church with you, they’re probably going to think that you’re crazy. There’s a time and a place for everything.

Try this. When your co-worker asks how you’re doing, reply, “I’m doing well!”

About jamesfantbooks

Author
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

