Twist and Shout…And Twist (my review of “A Wanted Man” by Lee Child)

reacher

This was my first Reacher novel and I must say that I am now a fan of Lee Child. You can really tell that Child is having fun as he writes about the six-foot-five behemoth of a man with the wits of a Jeopardy Grand Champion. You can see the fun that Child had even as he narrated the novel, from the casual conversation from Delfuenso’s neighbor to the frank description of Reacher from the state trooper. Reacher even had to say, “Gorrilla?” At times as I read the novel, I could see Lee Child typing away and smiling. He might have even laughed out loud a time a two.

“A Wanted Man,” places Jack Reacher in the heart of a mysterious murder. Whether it was fate that caused three travelers to pick him up as he hitchhiked on the Iowa highway or luck, I really don’t know. But if it was luck, it was definitely bad luck. Child takes readers over flat terrain in the chilling cold as he toggles between Reacher and the investigators whose path he’ll soon cross. Whether he crosses the law enforcers’ paths as a partner or suspect, you’ll have to read the book to find out.

I really enjoyed “A Wanted Man.” There is a great twist in the book and then there’s another twist. I’m a huge fan of twists but I’d rather have one big twist than two midsized twists. That was my only gripe with the novel, hence the title of my review. Give me one twist and let me shout. Keep the other twist for another book. That said, would I recommend “A Wanted Man” to my friends? Most definitely. I am a Reacher Fan for life!!!

About jamesfantbooks

Author
This entry was posted in books, reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Twist and Shout…And Twist (my review of “A Wanted Man” by Lee Child)

  1. Melinda says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed it. I don’t normally read murder mysteries, but I’ve recently read 2 netgalley books, that turned out to be both murder mystery/thrillers! Must say – it was a nice change.

  2. Thanks for stopping by, Melinda. I have to say that lately my book interests are really expanding. So I will read a murder mystery even though it’s not my first choice in genre. Child is a great writer so he makes the reading easier. I had a similar experience when I read 11/22/1963 by Stephen King. That was when I was rudely awakened to the fact that King is actually not a horror author. He’s just a darn good story teller.

    Bonne Lecture!

Leave a Reply

