The Top Ten Things I’m Not Worrying About In 2014

10. People not saying hello when I say hello to them.
They may not have heard me. Or better still, they may not want to say hello at that particular time. Either way, it’s really all good.

9. People standing and talking in walkways and on sidewalks.
Before I was like, “It’s called a sidewalk not a side stand and talk. Keep it moving!” But in 2014, I’m not going to mean mug them anymore until they move. It ain’t that serious. I’ll just step to the side. I might even say hello.

8. Whether the Cowboys win or lose.
I want them to go 17 – 0 next season; don’t get me wrong. I want them to win the Super Bowl next season as a matter of fact. It’s just that if they don’t for some reason or another, I’m not going to get all bent out of shape.

7. My weight.
I’m only going to eat until I get full. Sidebar: You know when FULL is and you know when you’ve surpassed FULL. I’m going to eat mostly healthy foods, drink a gallon of water a day, & exercise at least four days/ week. And that’s it! I’m not worrying about weight. I may not even weigh myself. Bump it!

6. Money.
I have never seen someone worry up a million dollars. People worry about money and end up having to spend more money for doctor bills for the detrimental health effects of worrying. It’s all about proper planning, execution, and trusting in the Lord with all of our hearts and not leaning to our own understanding. (I’ll be passing the offering plate after this good word, now. See! There’s some money right there. LOL!)

5. Communications break downs.
In my line of work (day job), I send and receive many email messages and I’m privy to many verbal communications. You would not believe the amount of trouble that arises from one misread word or misunderstood message. Even when you break it down for someone, Barney Style, and they still don’t get it…WOW! Anyway, from now on, I will just continue to break that thing down until it’s got.

4. Slow walkers, drivers etc.
Man, some people are doing the best that they can do.

3. Not having enough time to do things.
I am going to reevaluate my plate and the things on it that don’t promote the Kingdom of God, my family, or myself are being removed. Period! After that reevaluation, I am cutting my day up into the pie that it is. 24 hours. That’s all we get and all we can do is try to be as efficient as we can be with that 24. Leave everything else in the Master’s hand.

2. Pleasing others.
I’m not going to worry about pleasing others; I’m just going to do it. Sounds crazy, right? But look at the most successful businesses out there. They’re successful because they fulfill the needs of others. That’s actually Bible. “Don’t be concerned for your own good but for the good of others.” 1 Corinthians 10:24 NLT. Does that mean that I’m going to let folks take advantage of my kindness? Not at all. I’m going to be genuinely interested in the well-being of others, selflessly.

1. Anything, really.
I’m not worrying about a thing. “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God” Turn to your neighbor and say “Neighbor!” “Neighbor!” “I ain’t worried ‘bout anything!” “I ain’t worried ‘bout anything’!” Now somebody give God a great big hand praise in this place!

 ###

James Fant is an author of inspirational romance and suspense. He lives in South Carolina, where the mountains and the beaches have befriended him. His books include:

Fourteen Pages
An Ode for Orchids
Close the Door
The Secret Branch
The Mended Fence

About jamesfantbooks

Author
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

