Excerpt from HEART OF STONE (JULY 2017)

“Those deacons have been looking for you,” Lakeisha told Cap Morgan. “Wearing black masks. Kicking in doors. Pointing guns. They’re going to kill you.”

Cap smiled. “I ain’t worried about them.” He looked around the home library where he was sitting. Pine wood floors below Persian rugs. Wine colored leather settee cushioned chairs. The fire place roared and warmed him. He was too busy lounging to worry.

“You need to be careful,” Lakeisha said. “What they did to Randy…”

“Listen to me. I’m going to make them pay for what they did to my homeboy. You hear me?” Silence. “Lakeisha?”

“I…I’ve heard things about the deacons. Stephen Stone.”

“Are you talking about them being bulletproof?”

“Well…yes.”

Cap guffawed. “You’ve got to be kidding me.”

“Bullets can’t penetrate their skin. You’ve heard the stories.”

“They wear Kevlar!” Cap settled his laugh a bit. “Body armor. They were wearing it that night at Club Pimpin’. They’re not bulletproof.”

He shook his head. Took a pull off of his cigarette. Blew the smoke into the air.

Lakeisha said, “Still, how are you going to fight them if you can’t get through their armor?”

“Who says I can’t?”

###

HEART OF STONE (JULY 2017)

http://jamesfantbooks.com

About jamesfantbooks

Author
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

